How long can I hold my breath?

Hoagy

A couple of years ago I came into some money and made the decision to use it to take a few years out and retrain for a new career in counselling. This is a personal thing for me because I have some experience of depression and know others who have suffered with mental health (including one who took their own life). I wanted to do some good and make a difference. It's important to me.

Now I'm about to start the two year degree and I've run into a problem. I've always had a kind of Protestant work ethic that tells me I should get a job, work, pay taxes, contribute to society, and be a fine upstanding citizen. It's not just about earning money (although that isn't unappealing - I could do with a new apartment) but more about the pride, dignity, satisfaction and self-respect that comes from having a job. I like collecting a paycheque at the end of the month.

I feel as if I'm swimming underwater and I don't know how much longer I can hold my breath. If I can hold it long enough then I can get through this and start looking for a new job. I'm already looking for a part-time job that will fit around college and my other commitments and that would make things a little easier for me but nothing beats a real full-time job. I don't want to quit my course already because, as I say, working in mental health means a lot to me. But if an opportunity came along and the terms were agreeable but it meant I couldn't do the degree then I admit that I would be very tempted to grab it. Opportunities like that don't happen every day so I'd be a fool to not at least consider it, right?