Is this a problem, or am I being crazy?

kaykat

Hi guys!

This is my first time posting a thread on this site, but have been replying and exploring others.

I have been talking/dating this guy for about a month now, so it's nothing too serious yet but it seems to have the potential to. However, he got out of a long relationship a few months prior, and says it was "long overdue". For the most part, he seems to be over the girl in said relationship and I have brought it up and asked, and he says he is. She's a little on the crazy side, as she has messaged me (I don't know the girl at all prior) when she found out we were talking. He and I both joke about it when it comes up, so it doesn't seem like he has any leftover feelings from it. However, sometimes he'll make a comment about her that will kind of take me aback, like I'll make a comment and he'll reply with "at least you're not as bad as a certain someone". It kind of bothers me, because it worries me that he is not truly over this girl. On the other hand, he could just be lightheartedly joking about it and trying to make me feel better. Or, I'm just being plain crazy, haha.

Thoughts?

Thanks

I think you are overthinking a little bit because he is with you and I'm sure no longer has feelings for her.

Although I feel he may still have pent up anger towards her and that's why he says that. He just needs time to get rid of that anger. Don't worry he's not into her.

Lisa

How did this girl get your contact info?

Yeah and what did the ex have to say to you?

"at least you're not as bad as a certain someone"

I really don't know the context of this comment, but it seems off base. Even if this just joking, he's still inferring (whether he knows it or not) and comparing both of you as being bad/crazy.

"at least you're not as bad as a certain someone" - wth?