I want to end my life so I can "start over"

kaytsky

I've ruined my life by listening to my family instead of doing what I wanted to do. I have a Master's degree in Fine Arts that is totally useless. As soon as I set foot on that college campus, I knew this path was not right for me but my family encouraged me to stick with it. I ended up doing so poorly in my classes that many times my professors advised me to choose another career. It took me 8 years (yes EIGHT) to finally get my Master's. Of course, I cannot get a job in my field no matter how hard I try. For the last 12 years I've been working in retail and I absolutely HATE it! Even though I constantly apply, I haven't moved passed being a Sales Associate, I'm tired of dealing with rude customers who look down on me, and the pay is miserable. My family just keeps telling me "Things have to get better eventually." But after 12 years, things just steadily got worse.