self esteem took a major hit

esm12

Hi,

I've been in an off-and-on relationship for about 2 years. It was really only good for the first 6 months, and I should have ended it. I did cheat, and regret it, but I also stayed much longer than I should have because of the guilt when he took me back. Basically, he has told me he doesn't want a relationship but still wants to sleep with me, which I don't want. However, he knows this yet still keeps contacting me every so often. I have slept with him for the past year in hopes he would eventually want more with me...stupid, I know. He also will get mad at me for being with other guys, yet he has slept with other girls, and today he told me about how he would sleep with this girl if he could because she is so pretty. The problem is this...I still want him, although he very obviously does not want me. Any tips on how to finally get over him? I have been trying to for almost the past year.

Also, my major issue is that he kept me a secret throughout our relationship...he went out in public with other girls than he ever did with me, posted pictures with them, etc. (why I regret staying so long). Today, he told me the reason he did this was because I wasn't pretty enough for him. I already have low self-esteem, and this made it even worse. Any tips on how I can get over this and feel happy again?

Sorry to hear this. Sounds like it was unhappy, unstable, on/off and toxic for the most past.

The best way to heal is total and permanent no contact and block and delete him from all social media and messaging. The longer you are away from him the better you will feel.

Sadly he treated you like dirt but you stayed. Take time off from dating to reflect on how that was allowed to happen.

he has told me he doesn't want a relationship but still wants to sleep with me. I have slept with him for the past year in hopes he would eventually want more with me