He wants some space

Ok, so I'm fully expecting some judgey comments. Given my situation, I think it's understandable.

I'm posting on here to save me making everything worse than it already is by texting him.

My bf and I had split up about 3 months ago and then he came crawling back promising to make it all better. I decided to give it another go and we have been happy the last couple of months. I have been frustrated because he doesn't seem to want to give me the commitment that he'd promised me, but I've bottled it up and kept it to myself. Bad idea probably.

I'm studying for a degree alongside my day job and I've been stressed out for the last few weeks with exam revision - but he's been really supportive. My last exam was yesterday and he suggested we went out for a drink to celebrate. 1 drink turned into several and he's not great sometimes with alcohol and he gets quite antagonistic and argumentative. We got back to his apartment and had a huge row. I think all my stress/frustrations and the fact that he was being moody caused me the launch into a tirade of nasty rants at him and I ended up throwing his coffee maker and some glasses across his kitchen. Then I stomped home in the middle of the night.

I'm ashamed of my behaviour and all I can think is that he must've been saying something quite horrible to me for me to act like that.

I messaged him today to apologise and he replied back saying that he was angry and hurt but he wont make any decisions until he's calmed down (understandable). I'm so angry at myself and I'm confused about what I want and I want to know what's going to happen- are we staying together or not?!?! Obviously I can't force an answer out of him so I've now got to wait it out.

I'm upset because it's his birthday next week and we were looking forward to going away together for some much needed quality time with each other.

Thanks for listening