Had an affair (Not proud) and now super confused! Help!

Anonymous1983

Hi all,

This is my first time posting on here. I hope some of you have the patience to go through it and give me some advice.

I am not really sure how to structure this post, so I will begin with some of the background information.

I [32 yrs] have been dating my girlfriend [28 yrs] for about 7 years now. We met while I was working in Switzerland. She is Thai and was in Zurich on a business trip. For about 6 months after her trip, we kept in touch online and I ended up visiting her for 1.5 weeks in Bangkok, which is were we officially got together. For about 2 years we held a long distance relationship, visiting each other 3-4 times a year. Eventually an opportunity arose and I moved to Bangkok, Thailand for work and have been here for roughly 5 years now.

Regardless of the long distance factor, our relationship started out rather great. She is a very kind, caring, and beautiful person. The distance between us multiplied our love for each other. Being in such a long relationship, we've met each other's families and friends. We even often talked about the future, marriage, etc... I suppose, what most couples talk about after being in a relationship for so long.

Things weren't always perfect in the relationship. We had a lot of disagreements and arguments over the years, but always managed to come to a compromise. After about the 4.5-5 years I started became disgruntled in the relationship and when I look back at it now, I think unhappy. I could never really pinpoint the reason to my unhappiness. Not sure if I wasn't satisfied with aspects of my relationship. I also had a rough patch in my career. The company I worked for went bankrupt and then the company I joined shortly after also had to downsize. Shortly after I got a new job. Luckily all still in Thailand, but there were a lot of stress factors at that time.