Would you call this person a friend? A backstabber? How do I shake this?

sadchick83

I don't want to make this too long, but I have what I would consider a close friend for the last year or so. We are both in graduate school and looking to get jobs late next year. We had what I would consider a falling out this week. Please help me analyze this situation.

I am a mature student. I have worked very hard for about 15 years, sold my house at a moderate profit and moved away to live with my boyfriend who is both successful and generous. I am fortunate to be able to afford things and go back to school without student debt and live well while doing so. I didnt rob banks, I just saved and have help from my partner.

I have noticed that this so-called friend has been avoiding me for the last few months. She is the kind of woman who is transparent in that she lets you know she dislikes almost everyone, including her in-laws and anyone who we have to do group work with etc. She even yelled at a Professor then burst into tears outside his classroom because she got something incorrect on an exam, and he would not adjust her mark. However, up until a few months ago, she was what I would consider a friend, despite her having issues with almost everyone.

Anyway, while we usually do things together, including select classes together, occasionally attend events together, I noticed she started going to employer's seminars without me. English is not her first language, and while she does well, she hasn't done as well as I have in the grades department. She tries, but I am studying in English, my first language. GPA is always requested with prospective candidates. Whatever, we all have our strengths and weaknesses.