Open Club  ·  88 members  ·  Free

Off Topic

What moves you to continue posting here even when you don't need help?

panther

I am pretty new here. Less than a week.

I suppose many start here the way I did, by posting their story to search for anonymous opinions and advice, but then somehow continue reading others posts and helping them out in the way we can.

Or maybe you started here in a totally different way.

For me, I had some pretty good advice and critiques on my stuff right on the day I started here. And now am trying to work on that and work things out for myself. So right now, I don't need anyones help, besides my own.

But still, I find myself liking to read others stories and trying to help when I think I have something useful to say. But I am still a rookie here.

What about you? Do you do this on pure altruism?

Do you find yourself learning something yourself by helping others out?

Maybe something else?

I am curious.

I think about this question too, in a different way.

I think the feedback, the immediacy of hearing that someone found a comment useful, It's almost addictive.

Sometimes I log on simply to send a PM or check a thread, because I genuinely wonder how someone is managing. Other times, I think I am seeking immediacy to contrast my work, which is more long term.

Maybe it's a source of affirmation as well. Not sure.

Certainly, I have learned so much by being here. A valuable site for me.

Agree with metro girl! Also, for me, I love helping people so when I'm able to give advice to someone it feels good.

Also, ENA is such a part of my day to day life now, I don't know what I would do without it!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk