Could I get some coping tips?

SketchLu

I was with my boyfriend for two years. We met before I graduated junior college and had similar interests. I'd known him for several months before we dated, and he supported and helped me while I ended an emotionally abusive relationship. He is nearly ten years older than me, battling cancer and living with his father in a trailer park. I was grateful for his kindness and quickly fell for his gentle personality. I wanted to support him no matter what and was proud of him for continuing his education and pursuing a career. A short while after we began dating, he began to express an interest in polyamorous relationships, which could not be farther from what I consider personally acceptable for myself. I quickly informed him that would not be an option while we were together. He said I was worth it.

I visited, I paid for meals, I made food, I planned dates. He'd contribute rarely. Neither of us had cars and the distance between us was significant. I acknowledged this and hoped that, as I continued my education, I'd earn enough to responsibly purchase a car.

Over a year and a half later, my boyfriend became interested in someone else (a girl I knew) around August. He changed his mind quickly and sent me flowers with an apology. I was was hurt and unconvinced, but valued our relationship enough to let him off with a warning that if it happened again, I would leave him. I told him I would appreciate more effort on his part - to visit, even if infrequently, and call. He did, for about a month.

He stopped visiting a few weeks before Christmas. I noticed that a few weeks into the new semester, he stopped responding to my texts during his six-hour break between classes.