Advice: in love with a friend

ddolce85

I am a male student and have been friends with a girl I know from my studies for a while now. After just hanging out in groups, working on projects, all was fun and even though we had a good connection (same type of humor, interests, etc.), I never acted upon it until we got back in contact about 6 months ago (we were both abroad for a semester).

After that, I initiated to meet up, which she thought was a good idea. It was the first time we ever spent time just 1 on 1 in a bar but it was really fun and I did not have any other motives than seeing my friend again. But after that, we made more plans to do stuff together (we had dinner at my place, went to a bar two more times) and every “date” made me fall in love with her more. I didn’t do anything about it because for me, the transition from friend to girlfriend felt a bit awkward.

But now I can’t get her out of my head. Everytime we meet, we have a great time and she laughs a lot, stares in my eyes and even plays with her hair. When she went to Paris with her friends, she sent me pictures of Paris but also pictures of herself (without true Paris scenery in the background) at 1 AM local time. So all of these signs gave me the courage to confess her how I feel.

Yesterday we had planned to have dinner at her place. But just before dinner she said her roommate would also eat dinner with us and if I would mind that. Ofcourse, I wanted to spend time alone with her, but didn’t want to act like a jerk so said I wouldn’t mind. We had a lovely evening, but her friend stayed at the table the entire night. Also, my friend told me that she had a date that went awful the week before, which I didn’t know.