I feel like its high school

Hi,

So I've been working at this department store for a few years. It's only until I finish college, but I may stay a bit longer since I may do a masters in engineering. So it's a good job nonetheless, but one thing I'm not fond of is the social atmosphere. I've only made one or two friends over the years there, and I always get a feeling that I "don't fit in". It's hard to explain, but I don't connect well with many people there. Part of me I don't care, I have a big social life outside of work, and go to school, and it's only temporary that I'm working there. But I find the people there very gossipy, judgemental for no reason, very high school like, like the other day I was taking the time to help a customer find a product, and I heard a co worker later on in the afternoon gossip and complain about me to another co worker how I was taking to long, that I should have been helping her instead on the computer etc etc. the customer comes first from what I've learnt. I was only working with her for 30 min, we barely know each other. Overall I just feel like I don't fit in. It's hard to explain. I don't understand why, maybe I'm quiet at times, that's all I could think of, but I'm myself and I am a friendly person. I feel drained when I get out of there at the end of a shift.

Once you complete your education you will find a huge difference in the work atmosphere because you will be working with professional people. In the meantime you will just need to grin and bear it, I am afraid. At least you will have something to look forward to, while your present coworkers are stuck in a high school mentality. ....chi

Of course you don't fit in--you've got potential they don't own, and they dislike you for that.

You may want to consider temping, interning or otherwise finding employment in a professional environment, such as a consulting firm, where your peers will respect your schooling and goals because they've earned their own.