Finally found someone, but she lives 2,000 miles away. Now what?

nstack2

I'm new to the whole LDR thing and it has been pretty difficult for me so far. I met my current girlfriend through a mobile game of all places and we were talking for months before we met up. Feelings were building before we met in person and definitely intensified once we were able to spend time together in person. We've now seen each other on two separate trips and as crazy as the whole thing sounds to some people, we really love each other. Otherwise, I never would have started the LDR. We're both mature adults and know what we want. The only problem, I live in Chicago and she lives in LA. We are attempting to see each other once a month, however I don't know if we will be able to financially afford to see each other that often as time goes by. I don't need to explain why a LDR relationship is so difficult on this forum.

There is a plan to be together, however I have no idea when that day will come. I'm willing to move, I'm willing to start over. I worry that the LDR part has a shelf life, that at some point, the distance will break us apart. I've been trying to look for LA area jobs without any bites, as find a job in another state is nearly impossible unless it is a high demand field. At some point, do I just take the risk and move anyway? I really don't know what I should do.

No, do not take the risk --- LA is one of the hardest places to live ----extremely expensive and high unemployment.

Your "relationship" has no base at this point and will crash and burn with the move...without a job and a place to live. Too much weight on a fragile structure.

Your "relationship" will be close to impossible to maintain without a base.

Your RS will be hard to move forward with lack of funds to have regularly scheduled meet-ups.

I think you should call it a friendship and try to find someone geographically desireable. There have to be single women in Chicago.

Which mobile game? I am curious.