He doesn't want to give me a commitment because I'm starting my career over

andrea878

I'm 35 years old and I went back to college at 30 to get my degree in a field that I love. I got my degree so I can have job fulfillment. I just finished college in december and I'm currently looking for a new job in the field I love. I'm still at my old job, but I want a change, because that was the point of going back to college. This guy I have been dating on and off since July 2012 told me he doesn't want to be with someone starting over because of my age. he's the same age as me and he works in telecommunications and started over at 30 but he was able to make good money right away. Since I am starting over my career in this economy, I will be making much much less money than he is. I don't mind it because it will be in a field that I love and it will be for a short time because I am confident I can be a manager within a few years. He and I started dating just a few weeks after his wife left him, I met him though close friends, so I was opened minded about his situation. So why can't he be open minded about my situation? and he's still in his divorce. Looking for a job and being entry level is only for a short time. I consider him the love of my life and I tell him this is only temporary with me. I'm actually willing to spend my life with him, if he let me. So these years are only a few years and I have a lot of good years ahead of me earning good pay. Why is he so shallow?

I don't think you're going to want to hear this, but...he's just not that invested in a relationship with you. If he were, he'd be thrilled that you are following your bliss and doing something great for yourself. He would support you. He'd stand by you.

I know you think he's the "love of your life," but two things stand out here to me: You've been "on and off" since 2012 AND he's not yet divorced. Both of these things suggest a lack of investment, too.