Bf didn't really put much effort into Valentines Day...

bamboobam

He did a couple nice things, but he didn't put forth much effort. He has a lot more cash since he's a student but he is available more hours to work than I can do and I am nearly broke since I am a college student with a part-time job. Anyway, I was busy this week working and going to school, and doing school work and was able to put together a gift basket for my bf. On the other hand, my bf was off 3 days this week and all he did was play video games the whole time and stay home. I told him the day of Valentines day that I wished we had a hotel since we lived with our parents and I was thinking he was already doing something nice, but he had no plans at all. He was at work still and gave me his credit card and had me wait in traffic for 30 min. to get back home and make a reservation. Then, when we got to the hotel later that night, I had my gift for my bf, but he didn't have anything for me at all. We tried to go out to eat, but the restaurant was really crowded. The next day, I told him I wished I got a keepsake like what I made for him (even something really cheap like a balloon or candy would do) for V-day and he got really angry at me and didn't really talk to me when we went to eat that night....

Idk if I overreacted and I hate the money differences that we have since he is able to do so much more than me, but even though I am broke, I put forth effort all the time. I even offered to take him to eat for breakfast twice this weekend and he declined both times....

• Replies 78
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I think your expectations are unrealistic. Are you sure he is as focused on Valentines Day as you are? Of course the restaurants are crowded on V-day. It's not about the money of course. I think telling him you wanted a gift from him at that moment probably put him on the defensive.

Other than v-day how is the relationship?