Loss of girlfriend woes on V day.

Hey all, I appreciate you get a lot of these and just reading through other peoples posts I know I'm not the only one, but valentine's day is here and I need to let loose lol.. I'm not sure what my purpose is with this I just needed to post it to get it out of my system I guess so here goes, apologies for depressing people on Valentines.

My girlfriend split up with me over a year ago now and I still can't move on with my life. We were together for nearly 6 years but for the last 2 it was long-distance. She was my first "real" relationship. I still loved her but I think I knew deep down that it wasn't going to last if I couldn't be closer to her, but life always seemed to get in the way ( I got accepted on a masters course and she got a graduate job miles away). I finished my masters in June 2012 and I was trying to figure out a way to be with her when she split up with me last January. She said she just didn't love me anymore "in that way", that I was her best friend but she wanted me to be free to seek out someone who would love me like I loved her.... That I was a great guy etc etc...