How important is wit?

lifesatrip

I'm wondering if having a witty partner is a big priority for most people. I am extremely socially anxious and in some ways have not developed the best conversation skills. I'm feeling extremely insecure lately because I feel I'm not at all witty. I'm not good at banter, and I feel sort of conversationally dull/slow (maybe because I'm always processing intense anxiety during social interactions). I'm also extremely ignorant when it comes to cultural references, pop culture, and history. I'm trying to improve this, but it seems like I'll never catch up - there's just so much common knowledge out there that I somehow never picked up on. It makes me feel stupid.

I sometimes have good conversations with my few close friends. We analyze society, social justice issues, spirituality, nature of reality, etc. or we talk about interpersonal relationships, psychology, or personal growth stuff. We definitely laugh, but I feel like I'm an overly serious person. My friends say witty things, but I feel like I don't. I'm generally more passive in conversations, though I try not to be.

I have been making more of an effort lately to be better conversationally, and I feel like I'm getting nowhere, especially in terms of engaging more playfully. This is really discouraging, and I fear I am just a dull, dry, slow-witted, boring person. I'm starting to realize how important playfulness, humor, and wit are in terms of dating. I think my primary way of bonding with my friends has been through providing each other with emotional support. Once we have established a deep connection on that level I do become more playful and able to joke, but it takes forever to get there, and I feel that even with these people that I'm close to, I'm still not very funny, witty, or playful relative to the average person. Self-consciousness seems to be my modus operendi, even though I try to focus more outwardly.