Giving up on online dating. Seems to have gotten worse over the years.

deejay74

I've been doing online dating on and off since 2010. This is my 3rd attempt at online dating during this time.

Up until now, I have had much better success with online dating. I've met my most recent ex and the one before that on OKC and link removed respectively. This time around, I have had several people review my profile. I've gotten some good suggestions for tweaking my profile content and have received positive feedback on the pics I've used. I've had females and males review my profile. Now, I have my profile the way I want it and so far everyone says it's good. The 2nd time I was online, I only had 1 female review my profile. The first time, no one reviewed my profile.

Also, this time around, I've tried 2 dating apps: Tinder and Hinge.

I have had ZERO success with Tinder and Hinge and I've only been out on 1 date from OKC. Nothing from Match. I've probably messaged about over 50 women. I try to read profiles, ask a question or 2 from what I've read, and I try to keep the messages light and funny when I can. Also, I am having a harder time finding women that interest me. So, I know 50 isn't that much in the big picture but part of me getting discouraged is not finding women that I would even want to message.

I know I am not the best looking, but I don't think I am ugly, however, I am beginning to feel very unattractive because of the lack of responses.

So, back to the title of this thread: For those that have been doing online dating for a few years, does your experience coincide with mine? I was able to get more responses the first 2 times I was on and went out on several dates. Now, I can't even seem to get a response. Tinder and Hinge make me feel like I am some repulsive creature.

I feel like I am ready to date but I am going to give this 1 more week and then I'm disabling my profile and waiting until the weather gets warmer to get back on.

• Replies 132
  • Created