Open Club  ·  73 members  ·  Free

Off Topic

Can I change to a different apartment within the same apartment complex?

SilverFactory

Hi,

I recently moved to a new apartment that is on the first floor. I signed a 12 month lease.

In just 2 days I noticed how the ceiling is so thin and I could hear the guy living in the second floor loud and clear. When he walks around it is like stomping on the ground and I hear loud bangs and even see the ceiling fan shake slightly. In the night when he is talking on the phone I could easily hear the conversation. Then he brought his girlfriend last Friday and they started having sex and I could hear each and everything.. It was really embarrassing. I am losing my sleep big time and because of that my productivity at work has gone down significantly. I work as a Test Engineer and have started making mistakes

On top of this I notice cockroaches every single night in the bathroom. I am freaking out at the thought of using my own restroom.

I am not sure how I can stay in a place where I cannot sleep peacefully and afraid to use the bathroom. The problem is I already signed a 12 month lease.

Today I found out that they have an apartment in the 2nd floor that is ready to be moved in. Is it possible for me to transfer the lease to the other apartment? Will they allow it? Will I be charged lease break free?

The apartment in the second floor is more expensive but I would rather pay more money than suffering for the rest of the year.

Can you guys provide some help?

Thanks

You won't know until you ask. The other apartment may be ready to move into, but they may already have a tenant lined up for it. Get out your lease agreement and read it. Or, just ask your landlord, explain the situation about the ceiling and the noise, the worst thing he can say is no.

No they don't have anyone lined up for the other apartment. They are actually giving discounts for some one to move in