I'm not much of a Christian anymore, but my girlfriend is

ToTakeAStand

Hi everybody! This is my first time posting here, so I apologize if I'm posting this in the wrong place.

My girlfriend of 20 months and I are both 19 years old. Basically, at the beginning of the relationship we were both Christian (though I wasn't quite as conservative, especially politically/socially, as she was). However, as the relationship has progressed, I have moved further and further away from Christianity (especially fundamentalism, in the tenants of which she is generally a believer) in my head, but I haven't made this known to anyone because I'm still working things out. Deism, Zen Buddhism, or maybe even agnosticism all seem more plausible and appealing to me, but that is a topic for another day...

She remains firmly rooted in her fundamentalism, which I am willing to accept. I still attend church with my family, since that is what they expect of me, and they don't know of my "falling away" either. Since we have been together for a while now, especially in terms of teenage relationships, I cannot help but wonder whether or not this roadblock is one worth working through. She is nice, pretty, smart, loyal, and pretty funny, but I don't know how she would handle this knowledge. I wouldn't worry about her hating me for it; I'd be more concerned about her losing sleep and tears over the potential damnation of my soul to Hell. Her mom is a Christian, and her dad isn't really into religion at all, something that concerns my girlfriend tremendously.