Introvert and Extrovert

beingblue

I work for a company who really don't care about their employees. I am merely the receptionist but I am being blamed for the lack of profits the company is making....I am not responsible for this and my job title dictates that I am to answer phones and pass the calls on to the relevant people. I am severely unhappy at work and it is harming my relationship.

I have been with *James for two years, he is the opposite of me - extroverted, work driven, focused and goal orientated. I enjoy being quiet, reading books and my life does not revolve around making as much money as I can.

Recently because of work stress I have taken my sadness home, I am an artist in my spare time and my sadness has meant that I do not paint or draw as much any more. I also attend night school - hopefully to gain a degree in English so I can become an English teacher.

Over the last week it has been particularly bad and I have not enjoyed doing anything. I have explained my reasons for my sadness to James and he has reassured me that he undertstands and I have apologised for my lack of drive to do anything over the past week.

Last week we we both invited to a meal with his parents - today would have been the evening we were supposed to go. However, this morning I could sense that he was frustrated and so again I apologised for my sadness and asked if he wanted to talk. James told me that he felt suffocated, that my sadness was bringing him down.