Confused...Unsure of what to do...

Hello, everyone...this is my first time posting here, but I am just so desperate for something, some idea of what to do. This is going to be rather long, and maybe for the most part unneeded, but I feel like if you don't know where I am coming from, or the whole story, then you won't understand why I am so unsure of what to do about my situation.

My fiancee and I have been together for seven years, and for seven years he has been my fiancee. Not because we haven't wanted to get married, but mostly because we were content with how our lives were.

When I first met him, it was my first relationship ever, I was 20 at the time, and he is 10 years older than I am. He had a wife, who he was in the process of divorcing, because of the way she treated him and 3 kids. It was really hard time for him, and we became friends because he needed someone to talk to. My first date with him, we stayed up all night, and walked around the city, we ended up at the beach just before sunrise, and we sat in the sand and held in each other while we watched the sunrise. We both agreed that for some reason it felt so right being together. We loved each other since then, but we have been through so much hardship, and drama...both of us didn't ask for it and we really don't like drama but somehow it found us. After his x-wife found out we were going out, she talked her gang related buddies into trying to hurt/kill him. I ended up hiding him out at my apartment. There was so much stress with his x-wife and everything that was going on, he ended up having surgery for his appendix, cause he started suffering from chronic appendicitis. During the surgery, he aspirated and ended up being on life support for a week. I stayed with him the whole entire time. During this whole time I was a full time student and had a full time job. And he was looking for a job, his x-wife had caused him to lose his old one, by showing up and causing a scene.