What to do?

I've been working at a small restaurant for eight months. A few months ago, there was a change in ownership. On December 14, we had a meeting with the new managers who had us fill out applications as if we were new and said they'd be conducting interviews. Those who 'passed' the interview would be kept. I was never interviewed.

The restaurant has a set schedule, where everyone has the same shifts and times every week. I had gone on vacation for two weeks (which everyone knew about, I couldn't stop talking about it) and had my shifts covered for those two weeks. When I came back, I wasn't on the schedule. I spoke with the manager and took over an employee's shift who had just left to have a baby. Everyone knew I took her shift, obviously including the manager who set it up, yet the new manager wasn't writing it on the schedule. Every week when I'd come in, he'd ask me or someone else why I was there. Suddenly, one week, his wife was on the schedule in my place and I was told to go home after an hour on January 9th.

January 16, the owner called me and said there was no room on the schedule for me. He said I could 'wait it out' and see what happens.

Two weeks later, one of my coworkers (who is a neighbor) bumped in to me and told me I had two checks at work. She said I should get them fast because everyone's checks are bouncing. I came in the next day (today, January 28th) to pick them up. The owner greeted me with 'sorry about the bad news' and asked if I needed my W-2. He told me not to deposit the checks for a few days because everyone's checks were bouncing.

I went straight home, called the Labor Board, and was told to get to the issuing bank and get it in writing that there were insufficient funds, then file a wage claim. Luckily the checks only equaled about $40 and there were enough funds available to cash out.