Feeling isolated at work?

So I have a problem that's been bugging me for months now and is only getting worse. I've been at my current job exactly two years now and the entire time I've worked there I have felt so isolated. I'm an engineer so my job doesn't involve a high level of interaction with people, but I do expect to talk to coworkers about issues that are going on or work with others to resolve certain issues etc... It seems like at my company nobody ever talks to each other and just sits in their own cubicles for the entire day. I can literally go days without saying a word to anyone (aside from the good morning/how's it going/small talk at the water cooler). Most communication is sent via email and rather than have a meeting to discuss something it seems that people would rather just send a barrage of emails which to me is way more inefficient than just sitting down to discuss issues. The isolation is really getting to me mentally and I feel like I'm slowly going insane at this job. Has anyone experienced a work place environment like this? I've been trying to find another job for a few months but with no luck so I do have a long term plan... I just need some suggestions of how I can deal in the short term without going insane.

Have a life, friends, and hobbies outside of work. At work you are not being paid to socialize, you are paid and expected to do your work and that's that. Ultimately, if the work culture is not sitting well with you, then all you can do is keep looking for another job where you will be happier.

I walked into a work environment like that and yes...it is isolating