Will it ever go away? It's a little long, but please help me if you can...

I'm hurting, and not sure if I'm really hurting, or just hurting myself...

I'm a 28 year-old woman. I wrote in the divorce forum I think a few years back about my impending divorce. To clue anyone who is kind enough to read this and help me, I'll re-explain with a shortened version of my story: I was in a 14 year relationship with D. (Let's just call him that). D. and I met when I was a freshman in high school, he was a junior. It was love at first sight. We were the couple in our high school that made everyone want to puke with how perfect we were...years marched on, our relationship stayed strong, and we were married when I was 22. We had four years of almost glowing-happy-ecstatic marital bliss...then he changed.

He began to act strange. By strange I mean, saying weird things about freedom, things he didn't get to do, blaming me for his not getting to do things that I had no idea before that he had wanted to do. He became listless, rarely laughed or smiled, when he was usually blissfully happy just by being with me. It had been that way for 10 years by that time...so happy. So very happy in our own, unique world that we created just for us. D. never before even raised his voice in anger or annoyance at me, but he began to over the smallest, pettiest things...I could feel him changing. He became downright depressed. He was unexplainably not my baby anymore.

I searched for what it would take to pull him out of this painful funk. I asked him if he would like to move to a big city to study art (he had originally wanted to do that before meeting me, then decided not to when we got together, despite my telling him to go. He had refused and had me convinced he was happy to stay in our hometown and just be together). He said no that wasn't it.