Is my marriage doomed?

Backofthenet

Hello,

(Apologies in advance for the long post)

This is my first time posting – I’m doing so because I just don’t know what to do. I’ve been married for almost a year and together with my wife for almost 3 years in total. Things are not going well but you’ve probably guessed that already… I do love my wife but I don’t know if our relationship can be salvaged.

Things are going terribly. I know that it’s not just one person that causes a relationship to be/go bad but I honestly don’t know what I’m doing wrong. I feel my wife is quite demanding and harsh on me. One time we were shopping and someone thrust a leaflet in my face. I took it as I often do not knowing what it was and it was a debt awareness leaflet. I looked at it even though I am not in debt as I am interested in what people say to other people. She got angry and said I embarrassed her by looking at it in public.

Things were fine for the first 9 months then I moved in with her – she asked me to just after we got engaged and was lovely at this time. I relocated for her as she didn’t want to live where I did, even though it would have been less disruptive to her to move in with me, as I was more social/active in my old area than she is in hers. She couldn’t cope with me being a bit messy and started to go on at me. I (perhaps foolishly) put this down as us adjusting to living with each other, as she did. Then things were ok for a good while until our wedding approached. She did 95% of the organising and I just gave her money when she needed it as I knew she wanted it to be perfect. I’m not particularly well off but I gave her money for this and didn’t quibble about amounts as I knew how important it was to her.