Just Being Friendly or Maybe Interested? He's a Tough One to Figure Out.

LostInTheWind

I am a graduate assistant at the university I attend and I work at a program that provides support services for the undergraduate students. We hired new staff over the summer. I've gotten the chance to talk to/hang out with a few new staff members but not all of them. One of the newbies is a guy who seems to be very nice & friendly but, kind of quiet, reserved & somewhat shy. I am that way too. We seem to be the type of people who tend to be quiet & shy until we feel comfortable with people (or at least, I am). I never really got the chance to talk to him at the beginning, up until some point halfway through this past semester. In my opinion, our conversations are pretty much always interesting. Most of them have been conversations in which we got to know each other a bit and in my opinion, we relate pretty well to one another. We often find something to laugh at & things that we have in common. The conversations flow. He complimented me twice on two different jackets that I wore. One day, while I was at work, we had a conversation that lasted about half an hour, where we talked about various topics & when I had to leave for class, he decided to leave as well. It was the end of the day. As we walked out, he asked me what building my class was in. I told him and instead of going home, he said he would walk over to that building too since the program we work for was having an event (that was just about to end) at that time & he said that he wanted to stop by briefly to check things out. So, we walked over together.

Most of our co-workers are females (only a couple of them are guys) and I know that he gets along with and talks to just about everyone in the office. However, most of the girls are in relationships and/or engaged.