Switching from Bad Boy to Good Man

savignon

I admit it...I've been attracted to the jerks. I have compromised some of my core values to be in a way less than ideal situation. I've tried to "fix" the unfixable. I've settled for great sex when there was nothing else going on.

Lately, after lots of reflection, some time without going on any dates, some chats with friends, some great articles and of course my ENA friends....I think I'm getting to the point where I might be able to not only welcome a quality guy into my life, but even enjoy and appreciate him (you might be thinking "well-duh! Do that!" but its taken me a long time to get here).

I think I'm a quality person...I'm a professional with a stable life and career, a wonderful child, I own my own home and am honest, attractive, fun, intelligent..... I cannot tell you why I haven't been attracted to guys who are in the same boat but I haven't been.

I'm sure a mixture of insecurity and not feeling like I deserve the "whole thing".

Regardless, I'm feeling like I'm getting to the point where I think I might want the whole thing...by "the whole thing" I mean a good guy with a stable life, good career, family values, who's honest and just likes me for me the way I am (which is pretty decent!).

So, I'm looking for a little support...how to make the 'bad boy' to 'good man' transition.

I've decided as a step to cut out from my social circle any guys who have any traces of not respecting women in general, men who don't have their sh** together....I met a guy online who's physically totally my type....he hasn't called, offered to call, has texted little things like "hey beautiful" every day but no conversation has taken off....in an unprecedented move, I deleted him today without a modicum of regret or "what if". I know "my type" hasn't worked for me.