Quitting my job - am I making a mistake?

Neil123

Hi,

I'm about to make a big decision and I could really do with some objective advice. I frequent a lot of forums but I really believed this was the best place especially as it's generally about happiness and not specifically career, travel etc.

Anyways, I'm a 23 yo male. I graduated with a physics degree and I now find myself in my second year of an accountancy training contract, which I'm really not enjoying.

18 months ago I broke up with my first girlfriend and had a bit of a break down. I took the advice from this forum and have stayed single and focused on myself. I've taken up new hobbies (gym, reading and guitar) and I've really come a long way. At the same time, I've made plans to have a career change towards International politics whilst also maximizing my personal development opportunities. In 2 weeks I plan to hand in my notice and backpack solo around Asia for 6 months. Then in September, I've been accepted onto a Masters Degree (International Relations) at an English speaking university in China for a year where I can hopefully start learning Mandarin as well. Although I have a great family and great friends, I do feel like it'd be good for me mentally to get away from all the expectations on me. I'm also quite low on confidence with women after being out the game for so long and I think it'd be a great refresher.

As expected, as it all nears, I'm starting to have fears which I'm sure is perfectly natural, especially as not many people approve. Am I making a mistake? Is quitting a training contract suicide for my career? Would it be best to finish my training contract and go in 18 months?

I just don't think I can handle another 18 more months of stagnation in life. It's too much, especially when I'm 23 and should be trying to figure it all out. There's no time like the present surely!

Thanks

You are young and you have no children or mortgages at your neck.

Do whatever makes you happy.