I need to vent...Is it REALLY this hard to find work nowadays?

sg84

I beat myself over and over. It's depressing. I wonder if I'm just an idiot and that's why nobody will give me a chance, or if it's just really THAT bad out there for everyone?

I have a bachelor's degree and 6 years of professional experience before I had to move for my husband's job. Since October 2013 I've put 135 applications in. I've had probably 10 companies make preliminary contact with me to inform me more about the job just to learn they only pay $9-$10 per hour, which is not feasible for me at all. My last job offer I had 2 years ago was for $18 per hour, and I haven't worked at wage at $9-$10 per hour since I was a teenager. I've had 4 interviews at 4 different companies and was not offered anything. Truth is, not even 100% certain I'd want those jobs because they weren't all that great but I was trying to keep an open mind but I thought it would be nice to get an offer even if I had the opportunity to turn the job down. I prepare so much for these interviews, I plan what to say, rehearse, I dress very nice in fact I just bought a whole new outfit which was super expensive. I come out of these interviews feeling like I did a good job. But I get nothing in return.

My bachelor's degree is in Media Arts, I have one graphic design internship under my belt, a 5 year stint working as a graphic designer at a print company, and then another year under my belt working as a marketing coordinator.

I just don't know what to do but I'm so tired of not making money. Depressed, at my wits end. Wondering if things will ever work out.

it IS really tough out there right now and you are not alone. Can you do some freelance work? Would you consider changing careers to something that is more in demand? The market is so fluid..there are jobs...but some schools are turning out grads in "professions" faster than there are jobs...