I've finally decided perhaps getting a Master's degree might be a good idea, and I've been looking at graduate school programs.

One of the requirements includes submitting three letters of recommendation from teachers or practicing professionals. I'm applying for interaction design programs.

My question is, who would I include for the teachers or practicing professionals in my references? I received my bachelors about 9 years ago in an unrelated field and worked as a teacher for several years and now I'm working in executive administration. Very varied background.

I'm already learning as much as I can about interaction design and graphic arts on my own time -and have been applying to entry level jobs, but I feel like if I have a Master's degree in the field, I'd be more competitive.

Anyway, since it's been so long since my graduation from University, I'm not sure I'd be able to secure a reference from a teacher. I mean, they might not even be around anymore or if they are, I doubt they'd even remember me since they taught thousands of students. Further, I'm not sure getting a reference from a teacher who is not even involved in the design field would make any sense.

So, I assume I would have to use option number two, which is to ask practicing professionals to write the recommendations. Problem is, I don't know any interaction designers! I know multi-media artists, software developers, doctors, lawyers, programmers, video and film directors, editors, system analysts, market researchers and so on, but no one who is an actual interaction designer. Would getting a reference from one of the above people that I do know, make any sense? I've never worked professionally with them, they are just my friends, so not sure if that would work?

Anyone else ever apply to get a graduate school Master's degree many years after getting their bachelors? Any advice or suggestions? Would appreciate any insight. Thanks.