please could use some advice, thinking about quitting program!

pamjam05

i have been career confused for years. after years working in social services i decided to pursue a master in social work. i am in my 2nd year of 4 (its part time). i have a BA in psych.

I have to confess that i HATE the program. I have been with the same students throughout the last cpl years and I truly feel that most of them are complete morons..

My profs and admin are worse....between the 90 year old prof who felt too entitled to actually prepare any lesson plans for class to the one who consistently cut class an hour early over the whole year, to the profs who have never actually worked in social work but somehow seem to teach courses aimed at practice, to the political prof who gave A's only to those who voted a certain way, to the entitled prof who think that social workers should be valued higher than doctors, to the constant ranting and raving against "the man" in class by profs and students only to propose no solutions or answer, to the prof who graded my paper a b+ only to admit they didn't actually read it all but felt it was the beginning of the year and wanted to give me "room for growth"...ohhh its' been a peach.

I have learned absolutely nothing (except to write a paper according to what i know someone wants to hear) and have paid thousands of dollars for part of a degree. I recognize I'm bitter from my experience...maybe it would be different at another school? but i don't know, i'm starting to think that social work isn't a real profession and wondering how so many jobs require MSW degrees given that I am not learning anything...and there is a real lack of identity in this profession. Keep in mind this is from a canadian perspective (different than US social workers). i look around the room at the students and every single one of them has a different interpretation of what a social worker is. not to mention it's not really the most respected profession in industry now.