Is it too late for me to become a counselor (college senior)?

I am a senior in college about to finish my undergrad degree this May. I majored in Communication and I am feeling a bit lost and overwhelmed right now. I chose it because I knew it was broad and could give me a lot of options for career paths. Now I am struggling to find something I'm really drawn to. I've had a few internships, but I still feel like I haven't found that perfect fit yet.

I have always had a genuine passion for helping people and have always been a great listener. I always thought about becoming a counselor but now I feel like it's too late, because I didn't major in social work or psych. If there is any career I am drawn to, it would be this. I was talked out of majoring in social work but now I am sort of regretting it.

Is it too late to try and pursue this? How could I go about it if not? It is so important for me to feel like I'm working toward something and passionate about my job, and I'm just very confused right now…so any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks

Have you ever thought of becoming a career counselor, like at a university career services centre, or even a public job help centre? I have considered that, since I have a Philosophy degree and therefore can't be any other sort of counselor, but that's not what I'm currently doing.. I just became interested in the field a bit after being helped by some career counselors myself.

CongrAts on finding something you can be passionate about. Can't speak for all locations, but in the US, if you continue your studies you'll push out the 6 month grace period before needing to begin payment on student loans.

Consider visiting a dean to discuss grad programs. Then you can make up the bachelor's requirements (probably 4 or 5 core courses) and study the rest at the 600 level.

Go for it!!

It is *never* too late

I know several people who have decided to take up counselling as a career late in life.