Hello everyone!

I am new to this website, and I was hoping someone here could give me some insights with my situation, as it has become a burden to me (and to other people). I am not sure it is the right thread but figured it would be more appropriate here.

So, I am a foreign student here in the US. I arrived here about 6 months ago, and have been having a lot of problems adapting, as the culture is very different from my home country and I came alone. I am telling that because one of my few friends is my roommate, she's about 12 years older than me (she's in late 30s). I really like her and we hit it off since I moved in, even with deep conversations.

About 3 months in, I noticed I was starting to fall in love with her. I have never had a relationship with a woman before and considering the moment I was in, I decided I would try to pursue it. She dresses like a man, has a lot of interests that are typically male, talks like a guy... so it felt like "walks like a duck, swims like a duck, quacks like a duck, it's a duck", which means, it's a no-brainer.

She kept telling me she only liked guys, but still, my feelings grew more and more each day. To the point I almost exploded, so I tried to comically tell her I liked her. Since she didn't say anything at all (maybe she thought I was joking?) I talked to her and said explicitly that I liked her and thought she was hot. She only replied that she "wouldn't be a good girlfriend", there was absolutely nothing like "hey, I don't like girls, remember?". And ok, that's it. Christmas break. I travelled overseas and when I was very drunk I texted her saying that I had fallen for her. After that, silence.