Boyfriend lacking ambition, worried for my future

greyshadow

Hi everyone

This is my first time posting and I am looking for a bit of advice for my current situation. The topic may be a bit sensitive and I am worried I will come accross as shallow or selfish so please understand that I just want advice.

Basically I have been with my boyfriend for about 3 years. When we first met we were both in minimum wage jobs (I was studying and this was his career). I have since finished studying and have moved onto get a reasonably well paying job with potential for advancement. I am always looking for the next promotion and want to earn good money so I can be comfortable and one day hopefully provide a nice life for my children. On the other hand my boyfriend has stayed where he is and brings in just under half what I do. My boyfriend is really happy where he is and when I ask him what his plans for the future is he just says he wants to stay where he is. He has no real ambition or goals to even move up in his field and is happy bringing in the money he does.

The problem here is after our rent bills etc are paid off he has no money left for the week. He lives pay check to pay check and I often hear him on the phone to his mum asking for money. As our relationship has gone on he has discussed getting married, buying a house, having kids etc but I am worried about how we can do this. He says things like I will have to put more money into the house/pay the deposit as I earn more and when we have kids he will stay home and I will have to work as I earn more etc ... When I ask why he doesn't get a better paying job or try to move up in the world he gets really upset and throws tantrums and basically says it's because he isnt intelligent enough.

I am 24 and want to go on holidays and see the world but he can never come as he cant afford it. I still go but I feel sad and lonely the whole time. My bf is 29 and has been broke or close to it the whole three years I have known him