beth9292

Hello, I'm 21 years old and recently I started to talk with this man online I've never done this before so I had my doubts at first but now he wants to meet me. He is travelling from California to mexico where I live, this is not an online boyfriend thing per se because we havent met, we just want to know how things will go. This is nto even the problem, I know that I have to be careful adn that we should meet in a public place, the thing is my parents. Yes I still live iwht my parents because im nursing school and Im there most of the time, I cant really work, but my mother is somewhat very controlling and Im sure she will not understand. Especially because he is much older than me, but that doesnt really matter. I of course, did my own background check on him and had my friend who lives in Ca do it for me to to make sure he is legit, he is allright.

I told him about my situation, abotu sneaking out to meet him and that my friend will know where I will be and stuff but he says he wants to talk to my mother. He seriously wants to talk to her and my stepdad about it, and hell no Im not ready. I mean we will be meeting for the first time its not like he is my boyfriend yet, I think its amazing that he wants to do it but Im scared of telling my mother in advance. What do you guys think I should do? I mean Im not a child anymore, but she certainly treats me like one and honestly Im just tired.

Help!

Best advice, is to work on determining if the relationship is worth having, is a healthy relationship, and that it will last.

He doesn't need to speak to your parents at all. And you should NEVER be alone with him. Background checks are good, but there have been plenty of people who are abusive or mean and never get arrested.

Your safety is paramount. Is he willing to move and stay in Mexico? Where do you plan to live after nursing school? Where do you plan to work?