Sick and Tired of my Job

mbc230

I am going through some rough times right now and one of the major issues I am dealing with is my job. I work in the computer/technology field. It is not really the type of work I do, but where I do it at. I am at a company that bases all promotions on how much sucking up you do instead of basing it on how well you do the work/job. I hate the sucking up more then the politics, but I know I can not change it. I have been with the company for three years and have seen four open Senior level positions on the team I am on open up. Instead they looked outside the company to fill those positions. It has put a bad taste in my mouth for over three years. That is the main issue. The other issues might be trivial, but to me they are HUGE as my manager always picks one person on the team and uses them as there golden boy. That person is the go to person for all decisions that are to be made on our team. I do not feel like I am on a team, but more of an every man for himself type of group. On the three years I have been on the team I have not seen anyone from our group get promoted and they require we work overtime even though it is not written in stone, but it does reflect on our reviews if we don't so that means our bonuses will be effected. It is like they are using bribery to make us do extra work even though we all know if you are in the Information Technology field you know that working more then 40 hours a week is not uncommon and you might need to work more if required, which I am fine with, but I do not like being told what I need to do with my time outside of the required 40 hours a week. I can not talk to my manager as they are what you would call "YES" man/woman as they never say "NO" and they do not stand behind there employees. I feel like I am on the team where I am the dumping ground for all issues that occur on the team. There is another individual on my team that feels the same way, but I do not know if anything that can be do