Should I just give up on this friend?

Jennifer89

I am a student attending tech school, last January when I posted to facebook that I was starting school, I was contacted by a friend from high school. B had just started school one semester before me, and so, we decided to hang out. At the time, we were both on food stamps and received them 2 days apart from each other, so we started off just grocery shopping together. But then we ended up hanging out a lot more, going out for food, taking her daughter to the park, etc.

It was all great our first semester. Then, she failed a class that put her off course, and I think it caused her to feel depressed, because she wouldn't even tell most people what had happened and kinda caved herself in. I continued on during the summer to take courses, but she decided to take the summer off. Because she took the summer off, she couldn't get any money for attending school, so all summer she was broke. I was pretty broke too, I actually sold my blood plasma to get by with a little extra cash (which she tried and can not do due to small veins). I asked her a few times if she had considered getting a job, and she said no, because she had her daughter. I didn't call her out on it, but this is complete BS, as her grandparents are always willing to watch her. So, during the summer we spent time together mostly at the park with her 4 year old, but we also just hung out and wasted time together, I'd mostly buy her a donut or something like that ($2 bill) and we'd spend time together and talk.