Open Club  ·  76 members  ·  Free

Journals

The Diary that Talks Back

Catherine_3

There's always so much pressure on the first page. If I'm writing in a journal, I'll usually leave the first page blank.

My husband is my best friend. My daughters are 2 and 6 years old.

My mother in law lives with me. It's challenging.

I have a Masters degree and a career that makes me super happy. I'm working toward a promotion as director at my organization.

I have lots of friends but none of them are really career focused like me. My husband thinks I have little in common with them. Maybe he's right. I like hanging out with them, our kids are good friends, and they are a big part of my life. I love them. We help each other out. We care about each other. But I can't really talk about my career. I never talk about my career. I don't want to make people feel bad about themselves by comparison, especially the stay at home moms. I'd love to have a friend - even just one - that I can connect with on that level.

I think I'm a pacesetter. I took a leadership course where they defined various types of leaders. The pacesetter, they said, is the worst kind. It destroys the organization from the inside. I panicked. I stayed back to discuss with the course instructor, who insisted that I'm warm and that would offset any pacesetter tendancies I might have.

I still wonder whether I'm destroying everything, not just my organization, but everything.. from within.

• Replies 125
  • Created
  • Last Reply

My mother in law told my husband last night she doesn't feel appreciated. She lets my kids watch cartoons all day. She doesn't clean, although that's cool because I don't expect her to. But I'm a bit of a clean freak (ok, I actually put away the toaster and kettle after I use them.... I like spotless). I think it makes her feel messy by comparison. I rarely watch t.v. She watches t.v. a LOT. She stays up through the night and sleeps during the day while our 2 year old watches t.v.