When a girl becomes distant and awkward, what is going on?

Meandmylife

We're uni students working the average holiday job. Throughout we have been on really good terms and flirt a bit. Recently we both became single and the flirting intensified. We got playfully teased about it by others at work.

This culminated at our work xmas party where we were much more 'touchy' compared to everyone else sitting around a small table. When our hands met, we'd grasp eachothers for a bit before letting go. A touch of the arm here, a hand on her lap there. As a therapist student, I started giving everyone massages and she was the first to keep pushing for one. When she left, I was the only one who she gave a hug to - the type of hug you give to someone who is more than friends and I playfully lifted her up. So I think people noticed.

So now, after the party - first day back, when she said hi, I went to mess her hair (our little joke) and she went in for a hug. As the day went by she became more and more distant. Everything felt awkward around her - as if we were ignoring each other. When we did have to talk, it was purely work related. I caught her staring at me every now and then. She's also stopped talking to me about her love life (she still confides in others) when we use to tease ourselves about each others.

Today towards the end of my shift, she started talking to me more - still no flirting or teasing. When I said my good byes to all. I caught her mentioning how well built I am but didn't catch the rest of the conversation she was having with a coworker.

So what has happened? Do you guys think people at work have started teasing her about what happened at the party? I actually want to ask her out but don't see no openings for me to. I don't see myself staying at this job hence I'm not too worried. If not to ask her out, I wish things can go back to how they were before the Xmas party yet I do not know how to talk to her about it.

Anyone got any input into this?