Letting Go of the Past?

Kj4757

I'm sorry but this is my first time doing something like this, so please bear with me. I'm simply looking for someone to talk to

I've been with my boyfriend for a year now, but I've been acting in a destructive way to our relationship because of negative feelings I just can't seem to let go of. It's a rather long and complicated story as well, so not for the faint of heart

My boyfriend harbored very strong feelings for my best friend before we started dating--well, he loved her. She didn't feel the same way, but the whole situation fell apart into a type of mess which I won't go too far into detail of. I had feelings for him then, so it was very difficult for me to remain unbiased when both of them would come to me for advice. But somehow, I managed. This went on for a little less than a year, excuriatingly for all involved unfortunately. Quite surprisingly, he asked me to our first date (which I accepted of course) and we began officially dating since there. (He later told me--much later--that a part of him wanted to get over the aforementioned friend's rejection of him.) We were very happh together and he fell in love with me quite quickly (he's a romantic).

However, after 9 months, he admitted to me that he still harbored feelings for my friend (which just about killed me). He was very upset and affirmed that he only wanted to be with me. I couldn't help but feel very betrayed...We talked it out and things went back to normal... But I had a hard time trusting him after that. Not due to infidelity, but just because he is so intense with his emotions--I honestly believe he (or anybody else) can't consciously decide to fall in love with a particular person nor ignore who he doesn't fall in love with either.