Typo in sent cover letter

Guitarist

I am a recent college graduate. I have applied to a music publisher in my area that has recently posted a job opening. I think my cover letter is pretty good, especially given the fact I had interned for this same company earlier this year. However, one of my sentences reads:

"I have focused a great deal of my time and energy into performing, perfecting, and listening to to music."

I saw the typo in my cover letter and started to get very nervous. I quickly replied to the e-mail with this:

Hello again,

The statement "I have focused a great deal of my time and energy into performing, perfecting, and listening to to music" contains a typo. It should read as "I have focused a great deal of my time and energy into performing, perfecting, and listening to music." I feel rather embarrassed and rushed to correct this gaffe as soon as I saw it.

Thanks again,

[My name]

My actual resume is perfectly formatted and worded, for what it's worth. Was sending a second message wise for me to do? The position requires a lot of proofreading and attention to detail, as the hired candidate will be assembling publications using computer software.

If the job requires proofreading you can bet they will notice the type weather you apologize for it or not. My guess is they won't consider you for this particular position with a typo in your cover letter. You can't write an apology after a publication has be printed and distributed. That doesn't mean they won't consider you for something else though.

Next time I would read the cover letter backwards, last word first -that way you're not looking at the words in context and it's easier to catch typos. I think the apology actually does go a long way because it shows how aware you are. Obviously it would have been better if you didn't make the typo in the first place.

Thanks for the replies and advice.