I'm new to all this; falling for a South African

CanadianBCGuy

Hey,

So I just was googling different stuff and landed upon your guys' forum! Just thought it may be healthy to write on here and get some advice from others about the likelihoods of cyber international relationships working, etc.

For some background I am a 21 year old university student in Vancouver Canada, and I'm a gay male.

I've dated on and off here in Metro Vancouver, but have found the scene here absolutely abysmal and its not been the best. Just in the last two weeks, some odd things have happened. I'm a very geeky guy and have really found myself interested in South Africa recently since the Nelson Mandela death. So the night after I saw the news where they announced he had passed on, I randomly googled "gay South African guys".

Well long story short I found this profile of a really cute white 22 year old South African university student and we started messaging. Its been escalating quickly in the last 10 days. We text for hours every day. The flirting and everything is pretty intense. He's not out to his family or friends yet and has little experience in the gay world (where I have some; and I'm out). But I just find him so attractive and we click on so many levels.

We're planning to Skype next week to see what we're like with video and stuff. I'm curious if he'll hold up in that kind of face-to-face "online" interaction. But I don't know if I'm being completely silly and wasting my time or if this could maybe be something.

We constantly joke around about visiting each other and that he's never been to North America and wants to come to BC and how we'd do a road trip down to California. Or I would go over to South Africa and see that country.