Initiating the breakup in a few days. Any words of encouragement / advice?

StrongBalance2

Thanks in advance for any helpful replies.

Although I envisioned a lifelong commitment with my girlfriend (of 6 years), she no longer shares the same dreams for the future. She has admitted to me for granted, downgraded our level of commitment, and has slowly pulled away emotionally. While our day-to-day life is wonderful in many ways (we still laugh, play, have great physical chemistry, and a very strong bond), I know that I have been holding on to what was rather than what is. It's incredibly sad and I have been working through the pain for many months. I'm now ready to initiate the breakup, while she is the one who set the stage for this transition.

I'm going to very calmly and gently talk with her about breaking up in a few days, as well as sharing a letter (in person) that enabled me to clearly outline my thoughts. That way, the emotions in the moment won't overpower my ability to effectively communicate everything.

I suspect she will accept the breakup and agree to move on. In the rare event that she wants to "keep working on things", I want to tell her that we have been "trying" for months and the imbalance is still far too great (I'm putting in all of the work). But, I really don't know how I'll feel in the moment.

I would greatly appreciate input from others. I feel strong and grounded overall, but slightly apprehensive (as can be expected).

Only question I have is... have you BOTH been "trying" or have YOU just been pulling away without really talking about the underlying issues. It seems like you've just gradually been thinking about it and letting the idea eat away at you without letting her know how you feel, that you've been thinking about breaking up, etc etc. Have you let her know what's been bugging you? Or have they just been one off comments, underhanded statements, etc.