How to express yourself through talking

BellaLaBella

I'm really not good at communicating. I don't know how to express myself how I feel and what I think. Esp in interviews, parent/teacher conference or anything that is not just a casual convo I tend to freeze up. I stopped going to my theraphy I have no idea how to talk it out. And I feel terrible when after each conversation I feel and think about what I should have said. I know it's not normal but is there way to correct this type of behavior?

Practice, mainly.

I'm the same way too... and still am to this day, but it gets better a little bit. The way to practice is just to go on those kinds of conversations, or even start simpler. I work in retail, for example so I am constantly given opportunities to talk to strangers and I often times freeze up as well, but after doing it for so long, I've gotten better. When in doubt, let the other person talk as much as they need to. I don't know about you but I find myself putting undue pressure on myself to always have this "great response" ready for the person I'm talking to. I feel like I'm obligated to always have something to say and always be quick to respond. That's not always the case, and sometimes people just want to know that you're listening, hearing them out and as long as you respond with some emotion, even just a simple nod, you're usually good. Don't over think it and just let the conversations dictate themselves.

I