What are friendships worth having?

sweetcheeks1

I'm a student from England but I'm currently working in Spain. When I moved here I thought it would be interesting to see how many of my friends back home would make an effort. I've been here for 3 months and I'm already feeling pretty certain about the friendships that I'm unhappy about.

I'm in a Spanish colony on the north coast of Africa, so understandably some people have the impression that I don't have internet access, which isn't true at all and I’ve made this clear via Facebook and the blog that I’m writing. Since I've been here some of my friends from back home haven't been very good at keeping in contact. Some of their excuses include that they don't want to use Facebook or they've been too busy. I don't believe all of these excuses because even if you don't have or use Facebook, it is still possible to keep in contact through Skype, Whatsapp and email for free. For those of my friends who do use Facebook, it hurts when they say are busy and post lots of fun photos. I understand if people have work or exams, but if you have enough time to post things on Facebook then you probably have time to send a quick email as well. I can also see from the stats on my blog that lots of people are reading it, but still few people comment or contact me.