What does it really take to get hired?

sg84

I am SO SO frustrated. Gonna try to make this as short and simple as I possibly can. I am 29, I have a Bachelors Degree in Media Arts with 6 years of professional experience working in marketing and graphic design. I was employed from the age of 14-27 at 4 different fairly good companies to work for. I graduated university in 2007 and started a job in my career field immediately. Pay was low, but did increase throughout the years and I thought if anything it was good I was getting experience and could pay the bills. I was at the job for a year before I started looking for more work, hoping to move into something bigger and better paying. Fast forward 4 years, I was still at this same job, and maybe had put 100 application in and gone on several interviews but was never hired anywhere else.

So I had to quit the job because I got married and my husband had a job offer that was 9 hours away from my job. So I quit the job and in my new city went on a job application frenzy trying to find work, this was 2011, I put in over 200 applications in a 6 month time before I finally received 2 decent job offers in 1 week. I chose a job and was there for 2 months before my husband's job was once again transferred out of state, so I had to quit my new job.