Is it manipulation telling my ex I cant really be there for her if she chooses the rebound guy? We are best friends, have a fairly long intense history. We both still love each other but she may choose to be with someone else for now. Shes told me on no uncertain terms... "I just cant be with you right now." Its a long involved story, Ive posted it in another thread. It feels like it would be manipulative telling her this before she commits to a choice but... It is a reality we will both be affected by if she chooses to be with him. Yes, she herself is very confused right now, as am I.

Thank you.

Tried posting a link to the whole story. Im not too tech savvy. Youll find the thread if interested. Ex/relationships "inspirational, longwinded n confused".

If she's trying to choose between you and the new guy, then it's over for you regardless, because what that generally means is she's struggling between you + the security of your existing relationship, and him.

This kinda says that she likes him more but is scared to make the leap. It's the same feeling you get when you're considering leaving your existing employer before you have a signed contract with the company you're jumping ship to.

Is it manipulative of you to say what you're thinking of saying? Sure, in that you're trying to use her uncertainty of their possible future to make her choose you, the "safe" option.

Is it going to save the relationship for you? Nope.

Are you better off recognizing that your relationship is over and walking away the more powerful, less insecure party? I think so.