Random background check at my work and I'm nervous. Advice needed!

Good afternoon,

I have been an employee with my current company since January 2011 (coming up on my 3 year anniversary). I started at a decent position making $35K a year, and after 1.5 years, was promoted to a Manager position within my department. I currently make around $65K a year. I work in the financial services industry.

I was hired immediately out of college. At the time, my credit was in poor shape due to several dumb financial decisions I made with credit card usage, resulting in collection accounts. I was able to finally resolve all thise accounts paid in full last year; however, my credit score is pretty low right now as I am working on rebuilding my credit.

With that being said, I believe I got hired even with my poor credit. I am assuming they did a background check and pulled my credit, considering I signed an authorization sheet and everything during the interview process.

In July 2012, I was charged with a DWI in my city. I went through the proper court procedures and they officially charged me with a DWI. It does NOT show up on public records considering it was charged as a municipal offense, and not county/state.

So, my two dings against me are: DWI and poor credit.

Today - a representative from our HR department contacted me and stated that, during an audit, they found that they need to run my background check in order to be compliant. They had me sign a few documents electronically, authorizing them to do the background check.

I have been a strong employee of this company for 3 years now. I have received either 'High' or 'Superior' ratings on each of my 6 total performance reviews throughout my tenure here.

My question is - can they still hold those two areas (DWI and poor credit) against me and terminate my employment?

They cannot fire you for poor credit. or the DWI.

And they likely did a credit report when they hired you...and still hired you.

I would relax.