Possible Career opportunity - not sure if I want to take it.

superfan

I will give some brief background. I am a teacher, but currently EXTREMELY under employed. I live in Ontario, a province in Canada in which opportunities for teaching with a public government funded school board are almost impossible. To top it off, I am a secondary school teacher who's teachables are History and English which are two of the most overcrowded subjects in the job market. Currently, I am not employed at all with a school board and with new government rules regulating employment, it could be upwards of 20 years before I see any kind of permanent job.

The good news is that I AM working as a teacher. Currently I work for a private Muslim school in the city just outside the village I live in. I am not Muslim, but the administration does not care. It is a full time teaching job, and I am well acquainted with the area and the history of the building (before it was a private school, it was owned by an optimist club and I used to come here to learn drama and get away from the bullying I experienced. I have been coming here since I was 11 years old.) I love the students and the atmosphere.

The only problem is that it is barely enough to live on. I make $1500/month and I get laid off every year at the end of the school term, so I have to apply for EI in the summer time. There are no benefits (if it weren't for my husband's job, I wouldn't dental/prescription coverage) and since my contract only goes for 10 months, if I ever get pregnant, I won't be able to take maternity leave at all.