Is it ok for a building manager/superintendent to get involved with a tenant?

Wonderstruck

I used to work as an engineer, we did all the fixing but no cleaning like supers- and we were not allowed to talk to anyone in the building. It didnt stop me from reacting to a receptionists advances- until she got caught leaving my office- so we cut it off and hid it from everyone.

But, a super in a building where they LIVE in is far more personal. But, its not like it wont be the first time.

Yes, I think it's right up there with having a relationship with someone you work with. If things go wrong at any point in the future at best it's a recipe for serious awkwardness. At worst it's a recipe for all sorts of nightmarish retaliation and revenge-type scenarios that usually end with one or the other person having to leave or getting tossed out on their ears by the higher ups--in this case the owner of the building. My sister is a resident manager over several buildings--they aren't even allowed to make friends with the tenats and are told to be professional at all times. Friendly and nice yes, but no fraternizing as it were. At first my sister thought this was way harsh, but after she'd had a few chats and even a cup of coffee with a seemingly very nice tenant she started to get a total rash of shyte from the woman about paying the rent on time. She finally told my sister since they were friends she expected her to stick up for her and smooze the owner into letting her slide. She pitched a hissy fit too when my sister basically had to take her to the tenancy branch and have her evicted for nonpayment of the rent. Lesson learned: you don't get personally involved with people when you're a resident manager. It nearly got my sister fired over the whole mess, but fortunately the owner liked her and understood the former tenant had manipulated her a bit, taking advantage of the fact she was new to the job.